Hong Kong News & Events

The Hong Kong Institute of Chartered Secretaries

The Hong Kong Institute of Chartered Secretaries (HKICS) is an independent professional body dedicated to the promotion of its members’ role in the formulation and effective implementation of good governance policies in Hong Kong and throughout China as well as the development of the Chartered Secretary profession.

HKICS was first established in 1949 as an association of Hong Kong members of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators (ICSA) of London. It became a branch of ICSA in 1990 before gaining local status in 1994. At present, HKICS has over 5,700 members and 3,300 students.

The Institute’s Council is comprised of twelve Council members and one ex-officio. The Council with its Committees is responsible for the management and control of the Institute’s affairs.

The Committees, each chaired by a Council member or past president, are responsible for implementing the Institute’s strategic direction in Hong Kong and the Mainland. The Committees also work closely with the Secretariat to develop and organize activities to improve the recognition of the Chartered Secretary profession in Hong Kong and the Mainland.

The vision and mission of the member Institute
  • Promoting good governance, management and efficient administration of companies and other public bodies in commerce, industry and public affairs
  • Promoting the study of, and research into, the law and the practice of secretaryship and administration
  • Supporting and protecting the character, status and interests of its members, graduates and students
  • Promoting the efficiency and usefulness of the service and the standard of professional conduct provided by its members, and considering all manners of questions affecting the interest of the Chartered Secretaries profession

The CEO and secretary and the council of the HKICS

Chief Executive: Ms Samantha Suen FCIS FCS (PE)
Company Secretary: Ms Louisa Lau FCIS (PE)

HKICS Council for 2014/15:

Honorary Officers:
Dr Maurice Ngai, FCIS FCS(PE) – President (newly elected)
Ivan Tam, FCIS FCS – Vice President
Dr Gao Wei, FCIS FCS(PE) – Vice-President (re-elected to Council)
Bernard Wu, FCIS FCS – Treasurer

Council Members:
Dr Eva Chan, FCIS FCS(PE) (re-elected to Council) 
Susie Cheung, FCIS FCS(PE)
Jack Chow, FCIS FCS (re-elected to Council)
David Fu, FCIS FCS(PE) 
Paul Moyes, FCIS FCS (re-elected to Council)
Douglas Oxley, FCIS FCS
Paul Stafford, FCIS FCS 
Polly Wong, FCIS FCS(PE)

Edith Shih, FCIS FCS(PE) – Immediate Past President

Committees' Chairmen:
Audit Committee – Paul Moyes, FCIS FCS
Education Committee – Polly Wong, FCIS FCS(PE)
Human Resources Committee – Edith Shih, FCIS FCS(PE)
Membership Committee – Susie Cheung, FCIS FCS(PE)
Nomination Committee – Edith Shih, FCIS FCS(PE)
Professional Development Committee – Jack Chow FCIS FCS

Hong Kong Secretariat

Address: The Hong Kong Institute of Chartered Secretaries, 3/F, Hong Kong Diamond Exchange Building, 8 Duddell Street, Central, Hong Kong

Tel: (852) 2881 6177
Fax: (852) 2881 5050
Email: ask@hkics.org.hk
Website: www.hkics.org.hk

Beijing Representative Office

Address: The Hong Kong Institute of Chartered Secretaries, Room15A04, 15A/F, Dacheng Tower, No.127 Xuanwumen West Street Xicheng District, Beijing, 100031, P.R.C.

Tel: (86 10) 6641 9368
Fax: (86 10) 6641 9078
Email: bro@hkics.org.hk

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software